A.O. Wheeler Legacy Award

For Outstanding and Varied Contributions to The Alpine Club of Canada over Many Years

The A.O. Wheeler Legacy Award is the highest honour given by the ACC to its members. It is awarded for outstanding and varied contributions to The Alpine Club of Canada over many years. This award includes Life Membership in the ACC.

Born in Ireland in 1860, Arthur Oliver Wheeler arrived in Canada in 1876 and became a land surveyor. He made photo-topographical surveys of the Selkirks and the British Columbia-Alberta boundary through the Rockies. In 1906, he and Elizabeth Parker were the principal founders of the Alpine Club of Canada. He was its first President, and Editor of the Canadian Alpine Journal from 1907 to 1930, and Honorary President from 1926 until his death in 1945. He was the driving force behind two of the Club’s most successful expeditions, the 1913 Mt. Robson camp and the 1925 ascent of Mt. Logan.

For more information on the Wheeler family, see the Summit Series booklet: Among the Great Hills: Three Generations of Wheelers, available through the online store.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for the A.O. Wheeler Legacy Award, the nominee must:

  • Be an active ACC member
  • Already hold the Distinguished Service Award
  • Be acting on a voluntary basis or exceeding value of their remuneration
  • Have contributed outstanding service to the Club in the following ways:
    • made a long term commitment to the goals and objectives of the Club, as they are described in the Club’s Constitution;
    • served and participated, over a period of at least seven years (after receiving the Distinguished Service Award) at the National Level of the Club through service to multiple committees, projects, or activities; and
    • had their work result in substantive, meaningful and long-lasting improvements to the Club and its operations

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the A.O. Wheeler Legacy Award Nomination Form below
  • By a Club member
  • Before December 31 of the current year


  • The Awards Committee will review the nominations and submit its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval
  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than three-quarters of the voting members of the Board of Directors
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting

Award format

  • ACC Pin plus brass on wood plaque describing the award

Nomination Form

A. O. Wheeler Legacy Award - Past Recipients

2016        Oltmann, Ruthie
2015        Muir, Peter
2013        Hannigan, Carl
2010        Dornian, David
2006        Toole, David
2001        Mortimer, Mike
2001        Mortimer, Heather
1997        Hewitt, Ken
1997        Guy, Richard and Louise
1996        Fuhrmann, Peter
1996        Bendell, Beverley
1995        Tewnion, John
1995        Stefanick, George
1995        Munday, Phyllis
1995        Matthews, Ronald
1995        Lomas, Eric
1995        Hind, Robin C.
1995        Forest, Donald J.
1995        Fisher, David R.
1995        Brooks, Eric C.
1995        Bell, F.C.