Don Forest Service Award

An Award for Distinguished Service to the Club in Matters other than Mountaineering

This award was established in 2001; its name was changed to honour Don Forest in 2004.

It is intended, under normal circumstances, that the Don Forest Service Award would be awarded before consideration for the Distinguished Service Award.

Don Forest was born in Hanna, Alberta in 1920. He served during the Second World War as a radio technician in the R.C.A.F. Though he didn’t begin serious mountaineering until he was in his forties, he became the first Canadian to climb all of the 11,000’ers (peaks over 3,353 m) in the Rockies and the Selkirks. He also set another Canadian climbing record in 1991, during an expedition led by Chic Scott, when he became the oldest person (age 71) to reach the West Summit of Mount Logan. Forest was a member of the fabled Grizzly Group; his stamina, skills and endurance were legendary. Don Forest was the President of the ACC in 1975 – 1976, and an honorary member.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for the Don Forest Service Award, the nominee must:

  • Be an active ACC Member
  • Be acting on a voluntary basis or exceeding value of their remuneration
  • Have contributed significant service to the Club or a section over a minimum period of 1 to 5 years in 1 or more of:
    • furthering aims of the Club or a section
    • on a committee or project of the Club or a section
    • contributing to a large undertaking of the Club or a section
    • towards the activities of the Club or a section.

    It is intended that the Don Forest Service Award be awarded as a prerequisite to obtaining the Distinguished Service Award.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the Don Forest Service Award Form below
  • By a Club member
  • Before December 31.


  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than two-thirds of the voting members of the Awards Committee.
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting.

Award format

  • Plaque describing the award.

Nomination Form

Don Forest Service Award - Past Recipients

2006       Anderson, Anne

2009       Arnold, Gary

2014      Beaupré, Ashton

2008       Beck, Stephané

2011       Bergmann, Ernst

2006       Bock, Elfrieda

2008       Botton, Brian

2009       Booth, John

2005       Boulet, Michelle

2005       Boyd, Colin

2015       Breakey, Matthew

2008       Brolsma, Masten

2012       Brown, Catrin

2005       Bruce, Ian

2009       Bezanson-Earle, Joanne

2013       Campbell, Wayne

2008       Camire, Felix

2008       Chackowsky, Len

2008       Chikoski, Jen

2011       Chvostek, Paul

2007       Clare, Sheldon

2004       Clark, Jackie

2013       Craig, Steven

2006       Critchley, Brenda

2011       Cormie, David

2009       Deschambault, Yvon

2013       Dubé, Thérèse

2005       Earle, Mark

2013       Elms, Lindsay

2014      Engler, Dana

2009       Finnegan, Shannon

2011       Fish, Jeannette

2014       Fordham, Christine

2006       Foster, David

2016        Filewych, Lorne

2016        Friesen, Brad

2016        Gilchrist, Brian

2005       Holm, Judith

2005       Holm, Viggo

2014      Hrynkow, Paul

2008       Hubbard, Mike

2011       Hudson, Phee

2011       Hudson, Rick

2007       Hui, Oliver

2007       Hyvarinen, Randy

2002       Jaggi, Al

2015       Kasting, Colleen

2008       Keltie, Richard

2002       Knight, Tami

2006       Laliberté, Martyne

2016        Lezarre, Lil

2006       Lepage, Eric

2010       Levine, Murray

2016        Link, Tobias

2006       Marriott, Bill

2015       Massicotte, Luc

2016       McColl, Donna

2012       McCrank, Heather

2005       McIntee, Terry

2010       McGilvray, Karen

2005       Melville, Tim

2006       Moe, David

2009       Moir, Russ

2014       Mollison, Myrene

2005       Montgomery, Steve

2004       Moore, Kit

2005       Nadon, Tony

2008       Naroznik, Martin

2008       Nelson, Doug

2009       Newman, Darrel

2011       O’Callaghan, Chuck

2012       Ogasawara, Tak

2016       Ormerod, Clare

2016       Ormerod, George

2014       Owens, Robin

2011       Parent, Miguel

2005       Parkin, Grant

2006       Pauli, Heike

2009       Petzold, Andrea

2002       Pianka, Judy

2014       Pors, Dave

2013       Potter, Clifton

2015       Potter, Clifton

2013       Proulx, Louise

2007       Rees, Marg

2004       Rennie, Doug

2013       Rogers, Chris

2006       Rogers, Mike

2008       Rothwell, Dave

2013       Rusk, Ron

2011       Scott, Bill

2015      Seward-Guenette, Lara

2008       Shackleton, Edie

2011       Siegert, Martin

2015       Sims, Doug

2005       Statkewich, Simon

2009       Stevenson, Kayla

2014       Taylor, Peggy (Margaret)

2005       Taylor, Peter

2015       Thompson, Bryan

2002       Thomson, Jules (Julie)

2014       Traversari, Steve

2015       Venziano, Paul

2006       Vibert, Wayne

2013       Waller, Benoit

2006       West, Kevin

2006       Wighton, Don

2014       Williams, Elizabeth

2010       Zala, Cedric