Eric Brooks Leader Award

A Mountaineering and Ski Mountaineering Award for Strong Commitment to Learning and Applying Technical and Leader Skills

This award was instituted in 2001; its name was changed to honour Eric Brooks in 2005.

It is intended, under normal circumstances, that the Eric Brooks Leader Award would be awarded as a prerequisite to obtaining the Silver Rope for Leadership Award.

Born in England in 1902, Eric Brooks was a teacher by profession. He joined the ACC in 1929, and until his death in 2001, Eric devoted much of his energy to the Club. In 1937 he was awarded the Silver Rope for Leadership, was President from 1941 to 1947, and Honorary President from 1954 to 1964. While representing the ACC at the Alpine Club centenary in London, he was made an Honorary Member of that club. He acted for many years as the Camp Manager of the General Mountaineering Camp. In 1995 he was awarded the A.O. Wheeler Legacy Award. Few members have made such a significant contribution to the Club over such a prolonged period of time. But Eric’s contribution to the Club was not restricted to his lifetime. As part of his estate, Eric bequeathed $50,000 to the Club, the annual investment income to be used to support the publication of the ACC’s Canadian Alpine Journal.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for the Eric Brooks Leader Award, the nominee must:

  • Be an active ACC Member
  • Demonstrate a strong, consistent commitment to learn and apply technical and leader skills in mountaineering or ski mountaineering on Club or section organized activities over a minimum period of 1 to 5 years.

The term “mountaineering” includes activities such as technical rock or ice climbing or route-finding abilities demonstrated on National or section organized activities.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the Eric Brooks Leader Award Form below
  • By a Club member
  • By endorsement from the nominee’s Section Executive, represented by the Chairperson; or
  • For an unaffiliated member, by unanimous decision of the Awards Committee, represented by the Chair.
  • Before December 31


  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than two-thirds of the voting members of the Awards Committee
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting

Award format

  • Plaque describing the award

Nomination Form

Eric Brooks Leader Award - Past Recipients

2017         Aherne, Jeremiah

2006         Bosch, Neil

2019         Bowler, Mike

2007         Bergman, Ernst

2017         Blais, Casey

2013         Campbell, David

2017         Carlson, Mark

2007         Cox, Ken

2016         Drotar, Gerry

2016         Drotar, Nathalie

2014        Dmytrowich, Jeffrey

2019         Dupuis, Elisabeth

2002         Ebendinger, Claire

2016          McElroy, Thomas

2018         Ferries, Alastair

2009         Fluker, Shaun

2018         Fortune, Alan

2017         Frydrychova, Lida

2004         Fulford, Doug

2014        Guptill, Jason

2019         Hallman, Tyler

2005         Hanson, Margaret

2017         Harden, Marc

2017         Hemingson, Howard

2020         Hepfner, Brent

2008         Hines, Dustin

2016          Hofmann, Martin

2005         Huybers, John

2008         Irwin, Kris

2016          Jungen, Luca

2017         Karcha, Foster

2018         Kirk, Neil

2009         Leblanc, Rob

2017         MacPherson, Scott

2017         Mayerhofer, Marion

2009         Mayerhofer, Reinhold

2018         McMinn, Amber

2018         McMinn, Mike

2019         O'Brien-Kelly, Paul

2011         Naroznik, Martin

2017         Peel, Raz

2018         Potter, Anne Drew

2016        Rockarts, Steven

2014        Rosin, Mark

2005         Rothermel, Peter

2009         Seigert, Martin

2013         Steiner, Harald (Harry)

2013         Steiner, Nadja

2020         Tison, Marie

2020         Traversari, Steve

2016         Trudeau, Paul

2016         Twitchell, Susan

2003         Woodsworth, Peter