Skip to main content

Honorary Membership

An Honour for Contributions in Canadian Mountaineering

Honorary Membership in the ACC was instituted in 1906 at the first meeting of the Club. The current form of this award is a special pin accompanied by a brass on wood plaque.

Honorary Membership is the highest recognition the Alpine Club of Canada offers for contributions to Canadian mountaineering and includes a life membership in the ACC. It is presented to individuals with a strong and sustained commitment to the Canadian mountain environment and Canadian mountaineering – recipients will have given outstanding service to the Canadian climbing community.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for ACC Honorary Membership, the nominee must:

  • have a strong and sustained commitment (20+ years) to the Canadian mountain environment and Canadian mountaineering
  • be acting on a voluntary basis or exceeding value of their remuneration
  • have contributed outstanding service to the Canadian climbing community in the following areas:
    • the advancement of Canadian mountaineering through exceptional activities in the Canadian mountain environment;
    • the promotion of mountain activities in Canada; and
    • the advancement of the goals and ideals of the ACC, as they are described in the Club's Constitution.

Membership in the ACC is not a requirement for consideration for the Honorary Membership.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the Honorary Membership Form below
  • By a Club member
  • Before December 31 of the current year.


  • The Awards Committee will review the nominations and submit its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval.
  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than three-quarters of the voting members of the Board of Directors.
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting.

Award format

  • ACC Pin plus brass on wood plaque describing the award.

Nomination Form

Honorary Membership - Past Recipients

2020         Microys, Helmut
2019         Brusse, Robert
2019         Baldwin, John
2018         Scremin, Liz
2017         Parker, Gilbert
2016         Ricker, Karl
2012         Shokoples, Cyril
2012         Morrow, Pat
2012         Gallagher, Lloyd
2011         Feller, Michael
2011         Blanchard, Barry
2008         Wallis, Roger
2008         Serl, Don
2008         Jones, David
2008         Guy, Richard
2008         Guy, Louise
2007         Tarrant, Jim
2007         Talbot, Malcolm
2006         Wheeler, John
2005         Mortimer, Mike
2000         Scott, Chic
1998         Fuhrmann, Peter
1996         Boles, Glen
1991         Forest, Donald J.
1987         Culbert, Dick
1987         Clarke, John
1986         Gmoser, Hans
1985         Wiessner, Fritz
1985         Putnam, William L.
1985         March, Wm. (Bill)
1983         Beckey, Fred
1980         Feuz, Edward Jr.
1979         Neave, Roger
1976         Ledingham, W. Cam
1976         Harrison, William
1975         Hall Jr., Henry S.
1974         Carter, Neal M.
1972         Warrack, Allan
1969         Hind, Robin C.
1969         Brooks, Eric C.
1967         Wood, Walter A.
1967         Washburn, Bradford
1957         Evans, R. Charles
1953         Shipton, Eric E.
1947         Westmorland, H.
1947         Smythe, Frank
1945         Thorington, J. Monroe
1945         Gardiner, Kate
1938         Munday, Phyl
1931         Henshaw, Mrs. J.W.
1930         Odell, Noel E.
1930         Coleman, A.P.
1925         MacCarthy, A.H.
1922         Wheeler, Arthur O.
1921         Woolley, Hermann J.
1914         Walcott (Vaux), Mary
1909         Wilcox, Walter D.
1908         Outram, James
1908         Bryce, James
1907         Laussedat, Aime
1906         Whymper, Edward
1906         Parker, Mrs. H.J
1906         Green, W.S.
1906         Fay, Charles E.
1906         Deville, E.
1906         Collie, J. Norman
N/A           Gabet, F.