President's Award

A Special Award to Recognize Extraordinary Services to The Alpine Club of Canada

The President’s Award is presented to individuals deserving recognition for extraordinary service towards the activities of the ACC. This award is available to both ACC members and non-members. The form of this award is a wood and brass plaque. Starting with the 2006 award nominations the President’s Award has replaced the Special Award which was instituted in 1984.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for the President's Award, the nominee must:

  • Must be acting on a voluntary basis or exceeding value of their remuneration
  • Must have given extraordinary service to the Alpine Club of Canada, notably special service outside the scope of other awards.

Membership in the ACC is not a requirement for consideration for the Honorary Membership.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the President's Award Nomination below
  • By a Club member
  • Before December 31 of the current year.


  • The Awards Committee will review the nominations and submit its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval.
  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than three-quarters of the voting members of the Board of Directors.
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting.

Award format

  • Brass on wood plaque describing the award.

Nomination Form

President's Award - Past Recipients




2012       ACMG

2015       Aitchison, Peter

1988       Armitage, Linder

1995       Clay, Dave

1996       Congdon, Dwayne

1998       DeMarsh, Leslie

1984       DeMontigny, Dennis

1998       Harrison, Brad

2014       Joyce, Wallace R.

2012       Kinney, Rev. George B.

1987       Lajuneusse, John

1989       Lajuneusse, John

1999       McTighe, Don

1988       Morrow, Pat

1996       Morrow, Pat

2008       Powter, Geoff

1991       Scott, Chic

1995       Shackleton, Wayne

1996       Skreslet, Laurie

1989       Stefanick, George

1987       Talbot, Malcolm

1999       Toft, Murray

1995       Verrall, Dan

1988       Vroom, Bill

1988       Wackerle, Johnny

2012       Williams, Andy

2014      Williamson, John E. (Jed)

1996       Wood, Sharon

2013       Young, Chuck