Silver Rope for Leadership Award

A Mountaineering and Ski Mountaineering Award for Excellence in Leadership and Technical Ability

This award is presented to members in good standing with the ACC who have demonstrated technical skills and leadership abilities of a high caliber in mountaineering or ski mountaineering over a number of years. The term “mountaineering” will include activities such as technical rock or ice climbing or route-finding abilities demonstrated on National or Section organized activities.

The Silver Rope for Leadership Award was instituted in 1933.  The form of this award is the Silver Rope pin and a brass on wood plaque describing the award.

Award Eligibility and Contribution

In order to be eligible for the Silver Rope for Leadership Award, the nominee must:

  • Be an active ACC member
  • Have demonstrated excellence in technical skills and leadership abilities of a high calibre in mountaineering or ski mountaineering on Club or section organized activities over a period exceeding 10 years.

The term “mountaineering” includes activities such as technical rock or ice climbing or route-finding abilities demonstrated on National or Section organized activities.

It is intended that the Eric Brooks Leader Award be awarded before qualifying for the Silver Rope for Leadership Award.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made

  • In writing via the Silver Rope for Leadership Award Nomination Form below
  • By two active holders of the Silver Rope for Leadership Award; or
  • By unanimous decision of the nominee’s Section Executive, represented by the Chairperson; or 
  • For an unaffiliated member, by unanimous decision of the Awards Committee, represented by the Chair.
  • Before December 31


  • Approval of a nomination requires not less than two-thirds of the voting members of the Awards Committee
  • Award winners will be announced at the Club’s Annual General Meeting

Award format

  • ACC Silver Rope Pin and plaque describing the Award

Nomination Form

Silver Rope for Leadership Award - Past Recipients

2021           MacArthur, Jay
2018           Siegert, Martin
2018           Peter Amann
2018           Nathalie Drotar
2018           Lida Frydrychova
2017           Zemrau, David
2017           Dmytrowich, Jeffrey
2016           Denson, Rob
2016           Checkland, Rick
2013           Walker, Sandy
2013           Strangemann, Andy
2013           Sanford, Keith
2013           Plasman, Rod
2013           Fedyna, Steve
2013           Fairley, Bruce
2012           Morton, Dr. Don
2011           Broda, Fips
2009           Huybers, John
2009           Cox, Ken
2008           Camire, Felix
2004           Pasmeny, Steve
2004           Marchand, Roger
2004           Geddes, Paul
2003           Nelson, Doug
2003           Dornian, Dave
2002           Rode, Howard
2002           Pianka, Frank
2001           Thompson, Mike
2001           Serl, Don
2001           Parker, Kenneth
2001           Briggs, Sandy
2000           Main, Allan
1999           Rowlands, Peter
1999           Roe, Cam
1999           Brolsma, Masten
1997           Youwe, Phil
1997           Stirling, Bob
1997           Saul, Marg
1995           Larlee, Ken
1995           Andrews, Ron
1994           Young, Chuck
1994           Clay, Dave
1991           Wallis, Roger
1991           Haden, Mike
1990           Shackleton, Wayne
1989           Aitchison, Peter
1988           Stoliker, Paul
1988           Shokoples, Cyril
1988           Reader, Roly
1985           Miskiw, Orvel
1982           Matthews, Ronald
1982           Gottselig, Len
1980           Varnam, Russell I.
1980           Roe, Dick
1980           Patterson, J.D.
1980           Blumer, Leon
1979           Whalley, E.W.
1979           Mattice, Jim
1978           White, James W.
1978           Jordan, Bob
1978           Haring, Klau
1978           Foubister, Murray
1978           Forest, Donald J.
1978           Creore, Jo Ann
1976           Norman, Judy
1976           Kariel, Herb
1976           Cook, Judy
1975           Spear, Peter B.
1975           McIntosh, William
1975           Embacher, Uwe
1973           Baird, Patrick
1972           Struck, Bruno
1972           Parfitt, David
1971           Smith, Gertrude L.
1971           Boles, Glen
1970           Dowling, Phil J.
1969           Smith, Wayne
1967           Wessel, David
1967           Tewnion, John
1966           Scholes, Robert E.
1964           Kruszyna, Robert
1964           Fraser, Bruce
1963           Arbuckle, Dugald
1962           Cade, Jack A.V.
1961           Merler, Scipio
1960           Hopkins, Eric
1960           Fairly, J.J.
1958           Morrison, Donald
1958           Lash, Alfred W.
1958           Fisher, David R.
1956           Sparling, Walter
1956           Bidwell, David
1955           Bruce-Robertson, Alan
1954           Kato, Jo G.
1954           Faberge, Alex C.
1952           Woods, Don M.
1951           Young, David W.
1950           Tarrant, James
1948           Munday, Phyl
1948           Melville, Alan
1948           Brett, John
1947           Westmorland, H.
1941           Prescott, Polly
1940           Gilman, Bradley B.
1938           MacPherson, A.D.
1938           Fyles, T.
1937           Kramer, Andrew W.
1937           Brooks, Eric C.
1936           Neave, Ferris
1935           Hind, Robin C.
1935           Cuthbertson, R.J.
1935           Beattie, Canfield
1934           Wilson, L.C.
1934           Wheeler, Arthur O.
1934           Wates, C.G.
1934           Waterman, F.N.
1934           Thomson, H.F.
1934           Sibbald, Andrew S.
1934           Sharpe, D.R.
1934           Sampson, H.E.
1934           Richardson, C.A.
1934           Odell, Noel E.
1934           Neave, Roger
1934           Munday, W. Don
1934           Moffat, T.B.
1934           McTavis, D.N.
1934           McCoubrey, A.A.
1934           MacCarthy, A.H.
1934           Lindsay, L.H.
1934           Hickson, J.W.A.
1934           Grave, H.J.
1934           Gibson, E. Rex
1934           Foster, W.W.
1934           Forde, J.P.
1934           Drinnan, A.W.
1934           Cleveland, W.H.
1934           Bridgland, M.P.
1934           Bell, F.C.