ACC Volunteer Awards

Roger Laurilla Photo

Volunteers are the heart and soul of the Alpine Club of Canada. Season to season, day in and day out for over a century, our volunteers run the sections, write articles, lead trips, protect the alpine environment and demonstrate their commitment to the club.

Our volunteers know the mountains. Every season, and in every part of Canada, volunteer trip leaders take enthusiastic groups and new members on climbing, hiking and skiing outings. Sometimes for an afternoon and sometimes for weeks at a time. Our volunteers are skilled, dedicated, giving and tireless. Without them there is simply no Alpine Club.

The ACC Volunteer Awards are intended to recognize those of our members who have made significant contributions in furthering the aims and goals of the Alpine Club of Canada and Canadian mountaineering in general. These Awards are one small way that we hope to show them our appreciation.

Note: In exceptional circumstances the Awards Committee may consider awarding a second award (i.e.: Distinguished Service Award, Silver Rope for Leadership Award, Eric Brooks Leader Award, Don Forest Service Award, President’s Award) to deserving individuals who have received that same award in the past. Please consult the Chair of the Awards Committee prior to submitting your nomination.

Awards for ACC members only
Awards for both ACC members and non-members

Nomination Deadline

The deadline for nominations for the current year is December 31. To nominate a member, follow the links to the nomination form on the individual award pages.

ACC Volunteer Award Recipients - 2017

These award recipients provide outstanding examples of the quality of volunteerism and club stewardship in the Alpine Club of Canada. The 2017 Volunteer Awards for contributions in 2016 (and previous years) were announced at the Annual General Meeting in May 2018.

A.O. Wheeler Award

None this year

Honorary Membership

Bruce Fairley , Vancouver Section
Gilbert Parker , Vancouver Island Section

President’s Award

None this year

Silver Rope for Leadership

Jeffrey Dmytrowich , Saskatchewan Section
David Zemrau , Edmonton Section

Distinguished Service Award

Dave Pors , Jasper / Hinton Section
Elfrieda Bock , Ottawa Section
Boris Kaschenko , Toronto Section

Eric Brooks Leader Award

Casey Blais , Calgary Section
Marc Harden , Edmonton Section
Howard Hemingson , Saskatchewan Section
Jeremiah Aherne , Edmonton Section
Foster Karcha , Edmonton Section
Raz Peel , Vancouver Section
Scott MacPherson , Vancouver Section
Marion Mayerhofer , Edmonton Section
Mark Carlson , Calgary Section
Lida Frydrychova , Calgary Section
Van J. Konrad , Edmonton Section

Don Forest Service Award

Sandy Fransham , Calgary Section
Anna Milino , Vancouver Section
Joel Harvie , Newfoundland & Labrador Section
Barry Anderson , Edmonton Section
Amir Khanlou , Vancouver Section
Vi Pickering , Calgary Section
Don Chodzicki , Saskatchewan Section
Katheryn (Sparky) Russell , Toronto Section
Liz Bolt , Edmonton Section

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee meets each winter to review all nominations received and submits its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval in March.

The Awards Committee members are:
  • André Mahé, Chair/président, section Saint-Boniface
  • Paul Geddes, Vancouver and Toronto Sections
  • Tom Haslam-Jones, Montréal Section
  • Dave McCormick, Saskatchewan Section
  • Rod Plasman, Rocky Mountain Section
  • Bill Scott, Ottawa Section