Nomination Deadline

The deadline for nominations for 2016 volunteer awards is December 31.

To nominate a member, follow the links to the nomination form on the individual award pages.

ACC Volunteer Awards

Roger Laurilla photo

The heart and soul of the ACC are the volunteers who make every aspect of the Club function. Season to season, day in and day out for over a century, our volunteers run the sections, write articles, lead trips, protect the alpine environment and in a mountain of other ways, demonstrate their commitment to the Club.

Our volunteers know the mountains. Every season, and in every part of Canada, volunteer trip leaders take enthusiastic groups and new members on climbing, hiking and skiing outings. Sometimes for an afternoon and sometimes for weeks at a time. Our volunteers are skilled, dedicated, giving and tireless. Without them there is simply no Alpine Club of Canada.

The ACC Volunteer Awards are intended to recognize those of our members who have made significant contributions in furthering the aims and goals of the Alpine Club of Canada and Canadian mountaineering in general. These Awards are one small way that we hope to show them our appreciation.

ACC Volunteer Award Recipients - 2015

These award recipients provide outstanding examples of the quality of volunteerism and club stewardship in the Alpine Club of Canada.
The 2015 Volunteer Awards for contributions in 2014 (and previous years) were announced at the Annual General Meeting in May 2016.

A.O. Wheeler Award:

Peter Muir, Manitoba and Saint-Boniface Sections

Honorary Membership:

None this year

President’s Award:

Peter Aitchison (posthumously)

Silver Rope for Leadership:

None this year

Distinguished Service Award:

None this year

Eric Brooks Leader Award:

None this year

Don Forest Service Award:

Matthew Breakey, Calgary Section
Lara Seward-Guenette, Rocky Mountain Section
Colleen Kasting, Vancouver Island Section
Luc Massicotte, Montréal Section
Clifton Potter, Rocky Mountain Section
Doug Sims, Rocky Mountain Section
Bryan Thompson, Toronto Section
Paul Veneziano, Montréal Section

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee meets each winter to review all nominations received and submits its recommendations to the Board of Directors for approval in March.

The Awards Committee members are:

André Mahé, Chair/président, section Saint-Boniface
Paul Geddes, Vancouver and Toronto Sections
Tom Haslam-Jones, Montréal Section
Dave McCormick, Saskatchewan Section
Rod Plasman, Rocky Mountain Section
Bill Scott, Ottawa Section